from the chrysalis
from the chrysalis
wailing wall
0:00
-3:11

wailing wall

in which we discuss the pain of self-promotion and I rehearse for the gig (and you-audio included)

hey hartlist,

Last night, I dreamed - I kid you not - that someone was telling me at great length about how they weren’t coming to my Cutting Room Show on 10/28 because they had tickets to something better.

so… this picture was not taken at the Cutting Room, Danny will be playing full drum kit, Nick will play trumpet, and David Kornfeld is returning to play keys! Related: band photo shoot tonight!

I wish I could remember the name of the act my Dream Friend was describing because I know it would have been hilarious. In the dream, I smiled brightly and said “oh yeah, they’re great you should definitely go to that.”

So: Dream Me is both passive-aggressive AND not big on marketing. Noted.

Not that it’s my fave thing to do in life either.

I just remembered my favorite NYC sign ever, on a building downtown ( I can’t believe I found a picture of it):

(That’s the spirit!)

I’ve never gone inside. I love it and I hope they never take it down. Yet one cannot help but want to ask certain questions, like… but what else is great about your stuff? or how much did it cost to actually put the word ‘probably’ on that sign? or even … what do you sell?

We’ve all done it. It can be hard to remember you’re trying to share joy, not ask someone to help you move. In college I used to thank the audience “for staying”. Oh my god.

from the Cutting Room in 2019 in which David Kornfeld looks like The Hulk and I look extremely blase about the enormous rock and roll stage

FYI: the Cutting Room gig will be filmed. So if you’re not there in person you will get some YouTube clips. And if you ARE there, your applause will be captured for posterity, so start practicing.

Speaking of practicing, this audio is me running through our new-ish song “Wailing Wall” on my own. (Sirens: unplanned.) This is actually a song I wrote a million years ago as a baby songwriter in Los Angeles generally bemoaning.. well, the misery of promotion. We unearthed it recently and polished it up into the Rock Song it wants to be (electric mandolin!) I did some rewrites on the most, well, Baby Songwriter lyrics, but I’ve always liked the refrain:

hey nobody wrote the book of love
So there’s that down
You’re gonna have to buy your drugs
In a new town
Nobody wants to take my call
Is it so hard?
well I’m gonna build a wailing wall
In your backyard

We’re gathering before rehearsal in Brooklyn tonight to take the first Actual Band Photo at sunset. I need an outfit that says I love these people and I’m so proud of our music and this is going to be a big rock show with almost all new songs since the album and also it’s only an hour long and vax-only and our prices are probably the lowest in the city.

Love,

Rebecca

0 Comments
from the chrysalis
from the chrysalis
weekly blog from NYC-based writer & performer Rebecca Hart
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Rebecca Hart